Wake as a child

Find the first day of your life
What day do I call the first day of my life
Contained in my life
Wake as a child
God dressed up as a child
Oh! to see how the world began
Through the eyes of a child
The wings of a butterfly
Antiopa butterfly the joys
Of a child’s face
Brings all birthday wondering
Yet we put on faces
Bring joy from walking in wet and cold
I used to look forward to growing old
Life as a child, to grow is to change
Begin life anew, to be born again
I feel new again, new is to be young again
Today I barely remember when I was a child
My memories have gone of a child
Wandering the neighbour hood
Stolen by the morning light
Close my eyes again
To find that child’s heart
And the eye of a butterly

Find the first day of your life
What day do I call the first day of my life
Contained in my life
Wake as a child
God dressed up as a child
Oh! to see how the world began
Through the eyes of a child
On the wings of a butterfly

(c)bjsscribbles

2 thoughts on “Wake as a child

Please share your thoughts

