Lake Argyle

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

Pictures surrounding Lake Argyle

I still remember the drive
It was a drive to no-where
I thought

Lake Argyle my destination
I was on the correct road
But it felt like a drive to no-where
I still remember the drive

Bungle Bungles surrounded me
Creek beds, so many I crossed
Palms, Black boys, dwarfed me
It was a drive to no-where
I thought

A bridge came in sight
Along this drive to no-where
Rushing water underneath me
Don’t stop on this bridge
I thought

A gleaming shape in the distance
Was I getting close or was it an illusion
I believed I was getting close
After all it is better than an illusion
Along this drive to no-where

Such a drive, maybe I will again
I thought
Around the next bend, maybe
And there it was, Lake Argyle
Blue so much blue,
Surrounded by the Bungle Bungles,

Colours of the earth
Colours of the sun
There is only one Lake Argyle and I made it.
©bjsscribbles

5 thoughts on “Lake Argyle

    • It is right up the top of Western Australia and I found it to be the most amazing place, Auctually it is a man made lake but still Gods creation, because the need water so much up that part of Australia. It is historically famous as the Homestead of the Durack family sits at the bottom of the lake.. Barns, horse rails, huts. Amazinglt the family home was bought up brick by brick and rebuilt, and I was lucky enough to go inside it, while I was there.

      Liked by 1 person

      • My grandparents were all homesteaders except for my great grandfather who ran away from home in Missouri when he was 14 to work as a cowboy in the NM Territory. So…when you write these things, I feel a close kinship.

        Like

Please share your thoughts

