As my faith increased

As my faith has increased, everyone knows I was looking for something to hang onto. I knew there was something out there, but I was not sure what was out there. Slowly I grew to know I could believe again. I guess I have done it all at once, immersed myself in the word of God. The truth has been set before me in many ways, by many biblical quotes, by the word of prayer, shown me by many people.
I have told God many times what puzzles me over the past couple of years, I actually begged God to find me a decent place to live at one stage. I was virtually living in a shanty, come real old cottage at one stage. God led me to a peaceful unit in the country. God and Jesus solved my problem with prayer. The Lord is teaching me many facts about life in the bible.
At first I did not know where I was going when I first started learning about the bible, now as I hear verses each day or look up versus about different parts of life in the bible I am amazed. You hear things so many times a day you actually believe them, now as I hear the word of God I believe.
I have considered the testimony of many others I have met since turning my life around. Special friends that have helped me guide my walk with God, no-one has pushed me, I took it on myself. I believed there was a place of peace somewhere, I did not know how to find it, but I did; I believe one day I would find a place of peace.
There has been others just like me that have been saved, many from not so different walks of life, some from far different walks. Living a life of despair, searching through God’s Gospel, I began searching further, deeper, now I am traveling the same road as many before me. The experience of others helping me along the road of faith has led me to hope, peace, faith, OH! so much more.

I could’ve reject the road I took, but the road I have taken has led me to a better road in life. God has delivered me to believe in Jesus Christ. Delivering me from my fears so that I can work closely with others; helping them regain their lives.
Turning my eyes towards faith, I realise Jesus died for me so that I could be saved from sin and in turn now I trust Jesus with my life. I am still trying to understand and learn the Apostles but I am learning more and more each day as I write. Sometimes I can understand the Old Testament at times I think that part of the book is beyond me but I will get there.

(C)bjsscribbles

23 thoughts on “As my faith increased

  1. I have been a Christian since I was about 12 years old. My faith is still increasing! It is truly amazing how God reveals things to you as you are able to understand them. Your writing blessed me.Keep it up . 🙂

    Like

    • As was said.. yes it is about faith. You mentioned many things changed in your life and you’re finding it hard… Don’t feel bad, as I think we all have felt that way at one time or another. Sometimes we wonder why things happened as they did.. and how to move on. Reading God’s word ‘the Bible’ I think might help you…. Start with the New testament and ask God to help find what it is you need… If you haven’t been to church for awhile, and would like to go it might help to have some support of other believers, but for now just ask God’s help and guidance. There’s actually an old testament verse I’d like to offer you… and then a New Testament one.. Diane
      Jeremiah 29:11New International Version (NIV)
      11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

      Philippians 4:13New King James Version (NKJV)
      13 I can do all things through Christ[a] who strengthens me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great testimony here. I also have not been a Christian very long, only since 2007. And, I was 45 at the time and had never even owned a Bible. Like you, I didn’t know where to turn to mature myself, so I just started reading. Then a very mature man in the faith sort of adopted me and has mentored me since. And, it has only gotten better and better.

    Great post, thanks much for it.

    Like

  3. As others have commented, I’m fairly new to the faith, too. At the suggestion of a few people, I got myself a couple of study Bibles with good commentaries (different versions). I’ve been reading ever since. Might a recommend a great book that helped me a lot? “How to Read the Bible for All It’s Worth” by Fee and Stuart is a terrific book that reviews the different types and genres of books in the Bible and gives examples of each. It’s easy reading and helped me through some difficult quagmires.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for your information and support, I appreciate your support. I do have a study bible which helps and will look for the book you suggested. I do have a series of books that is set out to explain each book of the bible.they are called “Always commentaries” by John Devine they have help me a bit work out the books of the bible. I have looked for easy reading books that hep understand the bible.

      Like

  4. Thank you dear friend for sharing your walk with Jesus, He is our only Teacher as confirmed below, so many Trust in others or their own understanding reasoning and logic and when they find they feel empty and confused they look for other things to fill the emptiness which leads to despair, I know this is True because I was one of them but Jesus rescued me and later I asked for God’s wisdom and empowering through The Holy Spirit and I believe I have received them, we can’t understand His Truth without them as the Scriptures below also confirm.

    Matthew23:8-10 But you, do not be called ‘Rabbi’; for One is your Teacher, the Christ, and you are all brethren. Do not call anyone on earth your Father; for One is your Father, He who is in Heaven. And do not be called Teachers; for One is your Teacher, the Christ. ( NKJV )

    Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

    James 1:5-6 If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. For let not that man think that he shall receive any thing of the Lord. A double minded man is unstable in all his ways.

    Luke 11:13 ……..how much more shall your Heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask Him?

    1 Corinthians 2:9-16 But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that Love Him. But God hath revealed them unto us by His Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God. For what man knoweth the things of a man, save the spirit of man which is in him? even so the things of God knoweth no man, but the Spirit of God. Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God. Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teacheth, but which the Holy Ghost teacheth; comparing spiritual things with Spiritual. But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are Spiritually discerned. But he that is Spiritual judgeth all things, yet he himself is judged of no man. For who hath known the Mind of the Lord, that he may instruct Him? but we have the Mind of Christ.

    1John 2:26-28 These things have I written unto you concerning them that seduce you. But the anointing which ye have received of Him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you but as the same anointing Teacheth you of all things, and is Truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath Taught you, ye shall abide in Him.

    Matthew 10:26-28 Fear them not therefore: for there is nothing covered, that shall not be revealed; and hid, that shall not be known. What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops (KJV)

    Christian Love and Blessings Barb now and Always – Anne.

    Like

Please share your thoughts

