Learning about the Apostle Peter

I am writing this from unfamiliar ground tonight, I have been thinking all afternoon about the sermon given today by our newly ordained minister. She gave a gentle but poignant sermon on the life of Peter the apostle.
Showing pictures and talking about life, in general from a fisherman to a cattleman in the outback of Australia.
Peter had been given a second chance at life by Jesus, most of us around the world can count the amount of chances we have at life on our hand. Most of you know the story of my life and the second chance I have had to make a go of my life.
I know I am not a leader like Peter, but in some ways I maybe, I have taken a chance on putting my story out there for people to read in hope that it may help someone. People know my faults but for some reason the people I have met have seen there is something about me. I know I have turned my life around full circle, I like the fact that there is still some silent healing that I do for myself in prayer to God at home. But in some ways I have to open the door a little bit more.
As the story goes, Peter met Jesus of Nazareth and it changed everything. Something out of the ordinary happened to me, I walked into a church, looking for something, I did not know what; something captivated me. I thought, “Is there something to church?” I went back again and again and eventually Baptised again, for myself. I was Baptised before as a baby, that did not mean anything after a lifetime of emptiness.


As Peter realised, Jesus was holding a hand out to him, so he could follow, as my faith has grown and I began to follow, more and more. I am not writing this to dust the tickets of my shoulders, or to get a big head, I just know that no matter what we go through in life we do get a second chance at life.
When I first walked into church I knew I was sinking, I did not know where to turn to solve my dilemmas of life. Everyone has to take the first step to creating a second chance at life and this was mine.
Peter the Apostle was a very human like us all, as humans we all make mistakes and I searched to find Peter did make mistakes as well. Sometimes still I am unsure of the church and puzzled by the human reaction to church. I may make the mistake of not talking about how my faith has grown, with people I know; I am the only one in my family that has found faith and grown to know that there is more too God the Father and Jesus. They have shown me that I am now capable of Love, Loyalty, something that I did not understand about life. I do know that I am still at fault of being hasty, but not as bad as I once was.
I am glad that I have search further into the understanding of Peter the Apostle, just knowing there are people throughout history, even as far back as biblical times that show us we can all take a step towards and new beginning of life.
For many years I denied there was a God or even Jesus, it was always pushed down my throat, there were faults in the bible. Then there were the atheist in my life that was strong and toxic. I now know better.
Today I felt honoured to listen to today’s sermon; I was 59 when I first walked into a church for the first time since I married. So my journey is still very new

Apostle Peter Biography
https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?version=NLT&search=1%20Peter%201
https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?version=NLT&search=2%20Peter%201

Luke 5:6-8

6 And this time their nets were so full of fish they began to tear! 7 A shout for help brought their partners in the other boat, and soon both boats were filled with fish and on the verge of sinking.

8 When Simon Peter realized what had happened, he fell to his knees before Jesus and said, “Oh, Lord, please leave me—I’m too much of a sinner to be around you.”

(c0bjsscribbles

4 thoughts on “Learning about the Apostle Peter

  1. I’m glad you found Jesus and the new beginning He offers everyone but too few accept. Your testimony is wonderful and a shining example that it is never too late to trust God and start over. Thank you for writing as an open book and sharing the reality of your personal relationship with God. We need more people lifting up Jesus so that all may look and live!

    Like

Please share your thoughts

