The indecision in life

There are decisions that come into our lives, about ideas or directions. Decisions we make that affect our everyday lives. God places them gently in our hearts, but indecision creeps over our mind. We are left with choices to make, not knowing which way to turn.

I am struggling I know now I can write and I do wish to eventually write a book about the choices I’ve made since turning my life around and becoming a Christian. There are also many choices I’ve made settling in a different world far away from that, that I have lived all my life.

I take my time making a decision, it has to be the right one, if I pick the wrong one it may affect the rest of my life. Some people I know get annoyed with me because I take my time, but I need to make the right choice.

Sometimes I find myself over thinking and unable to see an outcome of the decision I make. So many possibilities with the things I need to do, when an idea seems real and a possibility something happens. I put it on the back burner for a while. Confusing it may seem to others, but when you start a new life far from the maddening crowds of city life, the circle of indecision may creep in.

Many times over the past few years I have said to myself, “I am not sure if it’s the right thing to do.”

I bet many of us would  have found ourselves in similar situations. Not because we have not got enough to do, or too much time on our hands. When we think about it, we put our choices before God, you know you can do what is before you. But you become overwhelmed by the next steps.

There is another scenario, you have too many choices and you become paralysed or even depressed. In your mind nothing seems clear, even though you have thought about many times, for days on end.

This year has been a year of unwinding opening my heart further to God and leaping into the unknown. Rather than staying in the safety zone of a life that I have known for many years. I left a life behind me but I did not understand the patterns of life had followed me. That life guaranteed me a safety zone, but it was not what I needed now.

Don’t get me wrong I still think about things, but when I am in the mood of not knowing what to do. It bring back feelings of the past, when I was confused and afraid. When we are full of dilemmas’, binds, we tend to take the safe way and put our dreams on hold.

.I thought I had to plan things out, it was a way of surviving, instead of living by the heart. I am learning now to listen, slow down, and letting God show me the way. Taking small steps or baby steps as many have suggested to me, I find I get things done. But when I over think or analyse my decisions, trying to obtain a fail-safe result. I find I am not being the person I want to be, my faith slips. In faith we follow God, not a plan

I have since found I have to be kind to myself, I have lived depressed and paralysed by fear a response I felt as a child that wanted to be free. Learning to be kind to ourselves encourages one’s self when you feel stuck. Many have told me to give my worries to God, express my troubles, instead of making myself feel sick.

Lifting my problems up to God, takes responsibility off myself and I figure how things work, I find depression leaves my body and my heart is open. Showing me there is life and creation starts to flow.

There are many out there that are still critical of me when I make a decision. The decision affects my life not there’s I keep looking for the right choice, I finding trusting in God to take care of me..

I talk over decisions with friends when you have everything figured out. Then you have a chance to withdraw. There are time when you don’t want to talk until you have things figured out.

I quite often myself, thinking  about God and Jesus and how my life has changed. I often talk with Jesus while I walk with my dog, sharing all the hard questions of life with Jesus. By comparing choices of life we often compare ourselves with other people’s expectation. If you are reading thing and a light goes off it is something we have all done. I know I did compare myself with others and found it never got me anywhere. As I grew to increase my voice with God and Jesus as a new Christian, I remembered what I have been trying to achieve. Not to be a servant to others.

The main point I am trying to remember is not to over think, or over analyse. I have to try and remember God is there for me and others and stop trying to figure out what is next.. Just do it and get on with life.

James 1:6-8

But he must ask in faith without any doubting, for the one who doubts is like the surf of the sea, driven and tossed by the wind. For that man ought not to expect that he will receive anything from the Lord, being a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

Matthew 14:31

Immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and took hold of him, and said to him, “You of little faith, why did you doubt?”

. Matthew 21:21

And Jesus answered and said to them, “Truly I say to you, if you have faith and do not doubt, you will not only do what was done to the fig tree, but even if you say to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and cast into the sea,’ it will happen.

(c)bjsscribbles

8 thoughts on “The indecision in life

  1. It amazes me during those times that I just can’t make a decision and I’m stuck like you describe, that while I’m analyzing, God works things out in a way that I didn’t even see as a possibility. I think He lets me get stuck so that He can show me He had all under control the whole time. I’m working on accepting life as it unfolds rather than planning every moment and worrying. It sounds easy but its not!:0)

    Like

    • I totally agree with you, let life unfold as it comes. They are words I have been looking for during the past few weeks. As I wait for my operation hopefully before the end of the year. All I know at the moment I have a hip replacement operation waiting anything after that is in the heavens. God is the only one that knows what is going to happen after that.. I have not planned it yet but one thing I do know as soon as I am fit I am having a holiday. It is not easy I agree but we do worry. The post was something I had been thinking about a great deal lately.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think there is a difference between doubting and second guessing ourselves when in some instances it is wise to take a second or even third look at what we should do. For sure we need to trust in God, but I believe He also expects us to be sure we’re making a good choice… A little hesitation sometimes is wise.. Diane

    Like

    • I do take my time and think, maybe God has taught me to be patient and use wisdom. Part that has stuck in my mind is something my Dad used to say ” Don’t rush in where angels fear to tread” That is what God is doing to me making sure I make a good choice in what I do.. It is something I have been thinking a great deal about as time draws closer each day to my op.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This post reminds me of one that I have saved in drafts. I will go edit it and try to get it up by tomorrow. You will know it by the name of Matthew Brensilver being in it.

    He did an excellent talk about anxiety surrounding decision making. I have listened to it a few times over the last several months.

    I wrote a post about it kind of like a review. He talks about the fact that there are less “forks in the road” than we actually perceive there to be. That most decisions do not make as dramatic of a life changing situation as it might seem.

    He talks about the worrying about decisions and how we are still the same person. We could end up similar places in general, in spite of what decisions we make.

    It is more about who we are, as far as where we end up and what we do. We are still the same person before and after a decision so we should go with our hearts .

    Annie ❤

    Like

    • Thank you for that, I will check it out. I had been doing a great deal of thinking about my life and the decisions I made to get me where I am today. I’ve gone with my heart maybe I never said that..Something I have never ever done before in my life. I will go to you blog and see if you have put it up

      Like

Please share your thoughts

