The sky, to reach for life

Many have been victims
Many have been in fights
That was not a fair fight

Many live as victims
Many live in hiding
Men or women

They did not ask for the fight, I lost
I realise now there is no shame in losing
Such fights, the only shame is winning

Move forward or upward in order to touch
The sky, to reach for life
No longer a slave, I am a survivor
No longer a slave to adverse circumstances

Today I take a hopeful look
As I look back with emotions
Of sadness, no more hate
I now see hope, rather than dismay
I know I will never forget, I try to forget
All the time, but I am reminded it was my life
But I wish to leave it in the past now
And remember
I was a victim
I am now a survivor

(c)bjsscribbles

3 thoughts on “The sky, to reach for life

Please share your thoughts

